My Musical Year Starts Now: Triple J Hottest 100

Since 2007, my ‘Year in Music’ begins on Australia Day.  Sounds kind of weird, but I guess it makes sense.  For one, my name is Roo…and I think I’m a kangaroo…and both of those are very Australian.  I was fascinated with Australia as a child…I even watched Yahoo Serious movies!

But all this is moot…the REAL reason is a little station called TripleJ and their annual Hottest 100 list. I’m not a big fan of lists…well, of their authority (I love making them) though I make one exception: The Hottest 100.  It is the authoritative collection of songs that impressed Australian listeners in the previous  year, and will rock your world in this one.

…I’m assuming you’ve missed most of the songs upon their actual release.  I think that’s fair.  Clearly there will be songs on the list you  heard in 2010 (in this edition there’s Fuck You! by Ceelo Green, Ready to Start by Arcade Fire, etc.)  If you’re a music freak, you may have heard of many of them.  The thing is…the rest of the country will get clued in to most…and you’ll be introduced to many that you didn’t catch before!

Take, for example, the illustrious list of #1’s in the last couple of years, of course note the year refers to the year the song played on radio, not the year the list was announced:

  • 2007: Muse – Knights of Cydonia (I first heard Muse on the radio in 2008)
  • 2008: Kings of Leon – Sex on Fire (this song showed up…in 2009)
  • 2009: Mumford and Sons – Little Lion Man (…surprise! You may have known them before 2010, but they didn’t break in North America until then!)

And this year, the number one is a band I discovered on the Hottest 100 years ago: Angus and Julia Stone – Big Jet Plane!  I wouldn’t be surprised if you heard them on television or even had the opportunity to see them live here in Canada or the US in 2011!

The list is a collection of great tracks, and predicts many of the new stars you’ll hear more of.  I’ll be showcasing my favourites in the weeks to come as they grow on me…or, in some cases, punch me in the face with their awesomeness.

Leave a Reply

