One Song, One Blog, One Thought: Monday, May 9th 2011

Do you get it? I'm being clever!

art courtesy of http://www.anitamurphyart.com

SONG: Josh Pyke – Middle Of The Hill

Not a new song…he released his most recent album in 2008, and this was from his previous release, but still a great song in my books!  In school, I used this track as an example of a ‘well written song’ and the instructor agreed.  What do you think?

BLOG: Freakonomics

I still assert that, although this is a music blog and one hopefully about the creative process, reading about everything is going to help you along.  This blog, Freakonomics, still eludes me.  I’m confused because I grew up thinking economics was only about money…but they recently did a podcast about (turn away if you’re prone to fainting) ‘Fecal Transplants.’  I guess that’s why it’s ‘Freakonomics.’

It’s fascinating, thought-provoking, and entertaining.  If you like to expand your brain with something other than fantasy novels or psychadelics, I suggest you check out Freakonomics.  After you read this blog…head there and give it a shot!

…and then come back!  I’d like to think I’m fascinating, thought-provoking and entertaining too!  Right? …right?

THOUGHT:

Making lists is great.  Actually ticking items off of them is better.  Why, then, are the majority of lists I’ve started continuing to grow and grow?  I know I feel better getting things done…ESPECIALLY if those things mean a larger project will run more smoothly.  Am I dumb??

In University, a professor told me I had a 3/4 problem. (get the picture now???) They’d seen it before in actors, in directors, in creative types and it was something that I did all the time.  The basic idea is this: from the start of a project to the end I will not appear productive nor will I be of much worth until I hit the 3/4 mark.

In acting, I would struggle and look awkward on stage (giving the directors a heart attack) until about 6 weeks in (normally rehearsals went 8 weeks) when BOOM, out of nowhere I appeared to ‘get it‘ and suddenly I was stealing the stage.  Same went with directing, except I made the actors nervous.

I think I’ve carried this through into my projects: I mull over things, run them over in my brain, and…make lists…until about the 3/4 point of a project when it all comes together and I do the work needed to complete it.  It happens with summer camp, it happens with work projects, it happens everywhere.

…and that’s why I haven’t written any songs or recorded anything in the last couple of years.  Because to hit the 3/4 point, you need to have a deadline, an end point.  Otherwise it’s 3/4’s of infinity!

Long and the short: even in creative projects, set a deadline…it’ll probably help.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “One Song, One Blog, One Thought: Monday, May 9th 2011”

  1. Rob Says:

    Hmm, a 3/4 problem. Never heard that before, but I totally know people that fit that.
    Great song pick also!

Leave a Reply

