One Song, One Podcast, One Thought: Tuesday, June 28 2011

Wheee!  So, this past weekend I consumed some alcohol, and on Sunday I swore I was fine, but clearly Monday was a haze of hangover and sore back.  The hangover’s gone…but as a roommate so delicately told me last night “You look like you need a walker.”

…I’m old!

Elderliness notwithstanding (two big words…I ‘must’ be old) here is our early week instalment of the ‘easy way out’ blog!

Song: LMFAO – Party Rock Anthem

…I know…I know…since when do I choose a song that’s on the Billboard Hot 100.  But dudes…the video…the song…it’s amazing!  Pop music can have some golden moments and I believe this is one of them.  Sometimes it’s easy to forget that music can be fun and still be good.  Just my opinion, but I think I’d like to Party Rock this summer!

Podcast: Soundtrack2

I was once asked “How do I make my song more shoegaze?”  They were trying to figure out how to get that signature, shoegaze sound.  That was the point I realized I had no clue what shoegaze is.  Of course, I’d heard My Bloody Valentine and other bands of the era when I was growing up…but I grew up in Erin, Ontario…in the 80s and 90s…there was no internet…and I didn’t know about music magazines so terminology was alien to me.

If you want a cool intro to shoegaze and it’s orbiting genres (space rock, dream pop, and psych) give Soundtrack2 a listen.  It’s definitely become a favourite of mine!!

Thought:

I’ve erased two thoughts already…one on annoying politics in my city, another a ramble about how I’ve been unproductive but yet unrested the last two months…both VERY boring subjects.

I’ll leave you with this because it’s a much, much cooler thing to think about:

…yup…absorb that!

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “One Song, One Podcast, One Thought: Tuesday, June 28 2011”

  1. Rob Says:

    I hate to admit that I have caught myself humming or tapping my toes to that LMFAO song.
    Sooooooooo embarrased

Leave a Reply

