Wendal

Growing up, it wasn’t a huge major-label group that inspired me to start a rock band.  When I started in music, I did goofy stuff with my friends Mother Jason and Ryan McLarnon.  It was all very…outsidery.  Very weird stuff.  Four track experiments really.

And then I heard Wendal…and saw them live.

I wanted to be in a rock band!!

It helped that the lead singer and guitarist was Ryan McLarnon’s brother, Jef.  It also helped that I knew the other members of the band…that they were all from my tiny hometown of Erin…

And it helped that the songs were fricken’ catchy, tight, and somehow managed to capture a sound that I could only possibly describe as ‘Erin in the early 90s.’  Maybe it’s just for me.  Maybe it’s all about my personal, subjective experience.  Who cares…the music is amazing, unique, and FUN!

FUN!

I highly suggest you listen to Admit, Joe and So Clever…then go back and listen to Not Pretending Grey, Jangle in G and River Red…then go back and listen to everything.

Click Here to listen to Wendal on CBC Radio 3.

PS. Like my two high school bands, Brillohead and Overgrown Spatulas, Wendal didn’t really take the time to take pictures of themselves. In the modern age, I’m sure things have changed a bit and people are more able to snap pics – cells, cheap digital, etc. Please, if you’re an artist, take the time every couple of months to take a few pics of yourself or your band…get people to snap pics at shows and share them on Facebook or just send them to you. If you can, film some rehearsals, some songwriting sessions, some shows. Trust me…you’ll regret it fifteen years later when you want to look back and can’t.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

