The Shins – Simple Song

It’s been a long time since I’ve done a new music review, but I’m listening to The Shins new track, ‘Simple Song’ and am only two minutes in…and I’m all giddy!

When I first heard ‘Wincing The Night Away‘ back in the good ol’ ‘Sound City Beaches’ day I remember being very excited.  The Shins had a unique sound, a strange experimental blend of pop and rock, being playful and simple while being complex and fresh.  ‘Kissing The Lipless’ drove me mad…what was it that made it sound so different from the rest?

Unlike a lot of music…I gave up.  Not on The Shins…I gave up trying to figure them out and just enjoy the music.

And that’s been my approach to the band ever since.  So when I saw ‘Simple Song’ all I could think was…damn, did I have it right all along??

Their music…it’s simple…but not really.  The point is, treat it like it’s simple – a lullaby, a nursery rhyme.  Just enjoy it for what it is!  A well-written, fun song.

You can listen to the new Shins track on Sparkups, a pretty cool daily music blog, or do as I did and check it out on Rdio.  I ‘really’ should be getting some kind of sponsorship at this point from them!!

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “The Shins – Simple Song”

  1. terms and conditions Says:

    terms and conditions…

    […]The Shins – Simple Song « Under the Pink[…]…

  2. web design Says:

    web design…

    […]The Shins – Simple Song « Under the Pink[…]…

  3. Gambio Ecommerce Shop Says:

    Gambio Ecommerce Shop…

    […]The Shins – Simple Song « Under the Pink[…]…

  4. blue licensing holding Says:

    blue licensing holding…

    […]The Shins – Simple Song « Under the Pink[…]…

  5. filmy peb Says:

    filmy peb…

    […]The Shins – Simple Song « Under the Pink[…]…

  6. nowami Says:

    nowami…

    […]The Shins – Simple Song « Under the Pink[…]…

Leave a Reply

